I’m not Flawed I am Different

Up until about 10 minutes ago I loved the quotes about “Loving your flaws”

Now, I still do. In the sense of: loving yourself and others unconditionally, and accepting and forgiving your own and others mistakes.

I have one friend who is very into language and in how important word choice is.

I have another who offered to make me an IG photo that has a quote attached. You know, the cool kind that people repost on their own pages because they are all inspired! (using one of my cool photos I took yesterday)

IMG_2973
I just feel like this photo speaks volumes! But what do I WANT it to actually say?

So friend #2 asked me if I had a particular quote I liked. I looked at the photo for a few seconds and saw a few things: Struggle, Love, Self Worth, Innocence.

I wanted to create my own quote and the most intriguing word in my head was flaws, and loving/ accepting them. But before I wrote up  my own quote, I thought about friend #1 and figured I should actually look up the definition of flaw.

FLAW

noun: a defect, a feature that Mars the perfection of something.

“plates with flaws in them were sold at the outlet store”a fault or weakness in a person’s character.

verb: flaw; flawing1.(of an imperfection) mar, weaken, or invalidate (something).

“the computer game was flawed by poor programming”

WOW. Reading this to myself I thought.. Why have a always used the word FLAW? If anything, these quotes are invalidating the word all together.

“Flaws are what make you perfect”

If a flaw mars the perfection of something (mars meaning: impair the appearance of; disfigure.) we are really confused when we say flaws make us perfect. I mean, i get the point, but why use the word at all? Language is so important and the words we chose are so limited now a days we don’t even use them correctly. I don’t see the mole on my face as a weakness or a defect. So why say “I accept my flaws” when I don’t even see it as one?

Mistakes I have made, which i learn greatly from, also aren’t FLAWS to me. Mistakes are exactly what they are: Mistakes. (And you either learn from them or you don’t)

So what are flaws? I see them as THINGS not PEOPLE. Like my computer came defected. It’s flawed. Not my scars on my shoulders or legs. Those tell stories. Those are experiences or mistakes. Not FLAWS.

So now, what word DID I want to use? I started scrambling my brain for a good one and the word Different popped into my head. Now yes, we can go into the “we are all human we are all the same. Or if EVERYONE is different, no one is.. etc etc”

But this word’s definition hit me where i wanted it to.

DIFFERENT:

noun: 1.not the same as another or each other; unlike in nature, form, or quality.

2. Distinct, separate.

In a world where everyone is trying to stand out, and find what makes them unique, the word different can be such a powerful word. It is true, we are ALL different. Like snow flakes. Yet we come together in so many different ways! Family, Love, Work, Charity, Sports teams. As different as we are, we all have the same end goals of happiness and success.

So in my mind, speaking about my “imperfections”, i love the word different so much more than flaws. literally speaking, based on the definition of the word, Flaws are negative, and I don’t have room for negativity in my life.

With all of that being said, I am waiting for him to finish the photo, but I’m too excited to wait to post this blog. haha

The quote I have decided to use is:

“I’m not Flawed. Im Different.”

It makes me happy 🙂

Love you even though I don’t know you,

Ginger aka GSnaps 🙂

2/29/16: since it is leap year, there is actually no quote for today. it’s the same as yesterday haha. So to get the quote, go to my last blog post haha

One thought on “I’m not Flawed I am Different

  1. evertheamateur says:

    I love this one thing you wrote: “Not my scars on my shoulders or legs. Those tell stories.”
    I agree with you 100%. Word choice is very important, and “flawed” gives the impression that we’re somehow less than good enough. Different, on the other hand, is simpler and truer. If only everyone could understand that there’s a story behind our differences!

    Like

Leave a comment